Confirmation Vote of Jeff Sessions as Attorney General, Cloture Vote for Tom Price

The Senate voted yesterday to invoke cloture on the nomination of Senator Sessions, and thirty hours later, we arrive at the final vote. The Senator’s confirmation was delayed by Majority Leader Mitch McConnell so that he could vote to confirm Betsy DeVos, which was decided by a 51-50 vote yesterday afternoon.

Vote should be around 6:50pm tonight.

We will update this page frequently, as soon as we have the tallies, keep refreshing this link every 60 seconds.

On confirming Jeff Sessions as Attorney General of the United States

Update 7:22pm

YEA 52

NAY 47

Present 1

Notable crossover: (Manchin is expected to support) MANCHIN HAS VOTED AYE

Updates: HHS Nom Price and Treasury Nom Mnuchin face back to back confirmations starting tonight, we will cover those votes live.

Update: 6:52pm- McConnell waxing about Sessions now, this should be the last statement in debate before the vote.

Update 6:58- roll call

Update 7:10pm Trump state Ds facing reelection: Manchin AYE, Heitkamp NO, Stabenow NO Donnelly a NO as well McCaskill a No as well Nelson a No, Manchin is going to be the only D voting aye.

Update 7:20pm- Moran makes #51, one more R left to vote. Heller votes- all in.


Bumped to the top-CLOTURE vote for Tom Price, nominee for Secretary of Health & Human Services 7:46pm update

YES 51
NO 48 <– Manchin a no

Notable crossover votes: NO crossover vote

Vote happening now, roll call started at 7:27pm We are near end of roll call.


Senate Votes

Democrats* Republicans
Alabama Shelby Sessions
Alaska Murkowski Sullivan
Arizona McCain Flake
Arkansas Boozeman Cotton
California Feinstein Harris
Colorado Bennet Gardner
Connecticut Blumenthal Murphy
Delaware Carper Coons
Florida Nelson Rubio
Georgia Isakson Perdue
Hawaii Schatz Hirono
Idaho Crapo Risch
Illinois Durbin Duckworth
Indiana Donnelly Young
Iowa Grassley Ernst
Kansas Roberts Moran
Kentucky McConnell Paul
Louisiana Cassidy Kennedy
Maine King (i) Collins
Maryland Cardin Van Hollen
Massachusetts Warren Markey
Michigan Stabenow Peters
Minnesota Klobuchar Franken
Mississippi Cochran Wicker
Missouri McCaskill Blunt
Montana Tester Daines
Nebraska Fischer Sasse
Nevada Cortez Masto Heller
New Hampshire Shaheen Hassan
New Jersey Menendez Booker
New Mexico Udall Heinrich
New York Schumer Gillibrand
North Carolina Burr Tillis
North Dakota Heitkamp Hoeven
Ohio Brown Portman
Oklahoma Inhofe Lankford
Oregon Wyden Merkley
Pennsylvania Casey Toomey
Rhode Island Reed Whitehouse
South Carolina Graham Scott
South Dakota Thune Rounds
Tennessee Alexander Corker
Texas Cornyn Cruz
Utah Hatch Lee
Vermont Leahy Sanders (i)
Virginia Warner Kaine
Washington Murray Cantwell
West Virginia Manchin Moore Capito
Wisconsin Baldwin Johnson
Wyoming Enzi Barrasso
Democrats* 1 0 47
Republicans 51 1 0
Total 52 1 47
*Two Independents caucus with Democrats.
Yea, Nay, Present, Not Present