How Every Senator Facing Re-Election Has Voted on Cabinet Nominees

Updated to include the confirmation vote of Mick Mulvaney and the cloture vote of Scott Pruitt. Click the chart to embiggen.


A third of the Senate faces re-election next year, with 25 Democrats and just 8 Republicans up. Of these, 10 Democrats are facing an electorate that just voted for Donald Trump, and one Republican faces an electorate that voted for Hillary Clinton.

Of the Democrats and Independents facing re-election, one stands out for the fewest opposition votes: West Virginia Senator Joe Manchin, who voted against only Betsy DeVos, Mick Mulvaney, and Tom Price. Behind him are Senators Heidi Heitkamp of North Dakota and Angus King, each only opposing five nominees so far.

The confirmation vote for SBA admin nominee Linda McMahon is today at 11AM.

Not yet scheduled:

  • Wilbur Ross (Commerce)
  • Ryan Zinke (Interior)
  • Ben Carson (HUD)
  • and Rick Perry (Energy)