Confirmation Vote for Mick Mulvaney (OMB)

This morning,  the Senate votes on confirming Congressman Mick Mulvaney as Director of the Office of Management and Budget. While McCain voted for cloture, he is still allegedly a no. One Senator has made their final decision clear: Susan Collins, who will be voting yes. Mississippi Senator Thad Cochran is apparently now a yes, but even if he opposes the South Carolina Representative, Mulvaney has fifty other ayes and Vice President Pence available to cast a tie-breaking vote. This would mark the second time in less than a month where the Vice President has been needed in such a manner: he cast the key vote for Betsy DeVos just weeks ago.

We are  covering the vote live today at 10:30am. Refresh this page frequently for the latest tallies and updates.

Updated at 11:08am



McConnell commenting on Scott Pruitt, Obamacare (1009am) 

Now Schumer is commenting about President Trump, Flynn, and Russia. (1019am) and is now finished (1031am)

Debate begins- Dick Durbin up first (1032am)

Enzi up now, talking about Old West hangings (1038am)

Debate is now over, roll called (1042am) 

Heitkamp and Tester both nays. With Cochran in, he hits 51 w/o McCain. (1051am)

Manchin is a NO- no D is going to vote for Mulvaney. (1102am)

McCain erronously called for as aye by announcer, corrected to nay


As a guide, here’s our current floor estimate for today’s confirmation vote. We will replace it with the actual tally as soon as the vote is complete.


Senate Votes

Democrats* Republicans
Alabama Shelby Strange
Alaska Murkowski Sullivan
Arizona McCain Flake
Arkansas Boozeman Cotton
California Feinstein Harris
Colorado Bennet Gardner
Connecticut Blumenthal Murphy
Delaware Carper Coons
Florida Nelson Rubio
Georgia Isakson Perdue
Hawaii Schatz Hirono
Idaho Crapo Risch
Illinois Durbin Duckworth
Indiana Donnelly Young
Iowa Grassley Ernst
Kansas Roberts Moran
Kentucky McConnell Paul
Louisiana Cassidy Kennedy
Maine King (i) Collins
Maryland Cardin Van Hollen
Massachusetts Warren Markey
Michigan Stabenow Peters
Minnesota Klobuchar Franken
Mississippi Cochran Wicker
Missouri McCaskill Blunt
Montana Tester Daines
Nebraska Fischer Sasse
Nevada Cortez Masto Heller
New Hampshire Shaheen Hassan
New Jersey Menendez Booker
New Mexico Udall Heinrich
New York Schumer Gillibrand
North Carolina Burr Tillis
North Dakota Heitkamp Hoeven
Ohio Brown Portman
Oklahoma Inhofe Lankford
Oregon Wyden Merkley
Pennsylvania Casey Toomey
Rhode Island Reed Whitehouse
South Carolina Graham Scott
South Dakota Thune Rounds
Tennessee Alexander Corker
Texas Cornyn Cruz
Utah Hatch Lee
Vermont Leahy Sanders (i)
Virginia Warner Kaine
Washington Murray Cantwell
West Virginia Manchin Moore Capito
Wisconsin Baldwin Johnson
Wyoming Enzi Barrasso
Democrats* 0 0 48
Republicans 51 0 1
Total 51 0 49
*Two Independents caucus with Democrats.
Yea, Nay, Present, Not Present