Cloture Vote on Scott Pruitt for EPA

Immediately following the confirmation vote for OMB nominee Mulvaney is the cloture vote for Scott Pruitt, President Trump’s nominee for Director of the Environmental Protection Agency. Senator McCain will apparently be absent for the vote, but his isn’t necessary: despite Susan Collins now voting no, Democratic Senator Joe Manchin is a yes, and Senator Heidi Heitkamp is a likely yes too. The one question mark we still have left is on Jon Tester, who has yet to release a statement either way. The cloture vote will likely happen between 11am and 1130am, and assuming 30 hours of debate are allowed, a final confirmation vote will be Friday afternoon.

This post will be updating live, so refresh frequently for the latest tally.

Last updated: 11:40am


YEA: 54

NAY: 46


Notable Crossover: Heitkamp and Manchin vote aye


Carper talking about a current lawsuit in Oklahoma regarding Pruitt (1113am)

Republicans yield their time, roll called now (1117)

Collins is a nay on confirmation but will probably vote aye for cloture. Currently through the Hs on roll call (1122)

Collins votes for cloture, McCain stuck around and voted for cloture, Heitkamp and Manchin cross over and vote for cloture (1128)


While awaiting for the vote to invoke cloture, here is our final confirmation estimate for Mr. Pruitt:


Senate Votes

Democrats* Republicans
Alabama Shelby Strange
Alaska Murkowski Sullivan
Arizona McCain Flake
Arkansas Boozeman Cotton
California Feinstein Harris
Colorado Bennet Gardner
Connecticut Blumenthal Murphy
Delaware Carper Coons
Florida Nelson Rubio
Georgia Isakson Perdue
Hawaii Schatz Hirono
Idaho Crapo Risch
Illinois Durbin Duckworth
Indiana Donnelly Young
Iowa Grassley Ernst
Kansas Roberts Moran
Kentucky McConnell Paul
Louisiana Cassidy Kennedy
Maine King (i) Collins
Maryland Cardin Van Hollen
Massachusetts Warren Markey
Michigan Stabenow Peters
Minnesota Klobuchar Franken
Mississippi Cochran Wicker
Missouri McCaskill Blunt
Montana Tester Daines
Nebraska Fischer Sasse
Nevada Cortez Masto Heller
New Hampshire Shaheen Hassan
New Jersey Menendez Booker
New Mexico Udall Heinrich
New York Schumer Gillibrand
North Carolina Burr Tillis
North Dakota Heitkamp Hoeven
Ohio Brown Portman
Oklahoma Inhofe Lankford
Oregon Wyden Merkley
Pennsylvania Casey Toomey
Rhode Island Reed Whitehouse
South Carolina Graham Scott
South Dakota Thune Rounds
Tennessee Alexander Corker
Texas Cornyn Cruz
Utah Hatch Lee
Vermont Leahy Sanders (i)
Virginia Warner Kaine
Washington Murray Cantwell
West Virginia Manchin Moore Capito
Wisconsin Baldwin Johnson
Wyoming Enzi Barrasso
Democrats* 2 0 46
Republicans 52 0 0
Total 54 0 46
*Two Independents caucus with Democrats.
Yea, Nay, Present, Not Present