And Now, the Nuclear Option as it Happens

With cloture failing under the old rules, here we go. Senator Mitch McConnell appeals to the Senate President, his appeal runs contrary to the traditional rules, McConnell then wants to hold a vote to change said rules, dropping from a 60-vote threshold to a simple majority. This is the vote to change the rules, as it rolls out.

McConnell appeals the ruling of the chair when told that the current rules does not cover Supreme Court nominations

Schumer makes parliamentary inquiry confirming current rules

Schumer moves to adjourn

Motion to adjourn vote: 48-52 FAILS

Question should the decision stand

60 VOTE THRESHOLD FALLS, updating Senators below.

Live Senate Votes

Democrats* Republicans
Alabama Shelby Strange
Alaska Murkowski Sullivan
Arizona McCain Flake
Arkansas Boozeman Cotton
California Feinstein Harris
Colorado Bennet Gardner
Connecticut Blumenthal Murphy
Delaware Carper Coons
Florida Nelson Rubio
Georgia Isakson Perdue
Hawaii Schatz Hirono
Idaho Crapo Risch
Illinois Durbin Duckworth
Indiana Donnelly Young
Iowa Grassley Ernst
Kansas Roberts Moran
Kentucky McConnell Paul
Louisiana Cassidy Kennedy
Maine King (i) Collins
Maryland Cardin Van Hollen
Massachusetts Warren Markey
Michigan Stabenow Peters
Minnesota Klobuchar Franken
Mississippi Cochran Wicker
Missouri McCaskill Blunt
Montana Tester Daines
Nebraska Fischer Sasse
Nevada Cortez Masto Heller
New Hampshire Shaheen Hassan
New Jersey Menendez Booker
New Mexico Udall Heinrich
New York Schumer Gillibrand
North Carolina Burr Tillis
North Dakota Heitkamp Hoeven
Ohio Brown Portman
Oklahoma Inhofe Lankford
Oregon Wyden Merkley
Pennsylvania Casey Toomey
Rhode Island Reed Whitehouse
South Carolina Graham Scott
South Dakota Thune Rounds
Tennessee Alexander Corker
Texas Cornyn Cruz
Utah Hatch Lee
Vermont Leahy Sanders (i)
Virginia Warner Kaine
Washington Murray Cantwell
West Virginia Manchin Moore Capito
Wisconsin Baldwin Johnson
Wyoming Enzi Barrasso
Democrats* 48 0 0
Republicans 0 0 52
Total 48 0 52
*Two Independents caucus with Democrats.
Yea, Nay, Present, Not Present